Sci-fi skirmish rules

So hand in hand with the urban terrain I am building I am going to start work on creating my own sci-fi skirmish rules. There are quite a lot of sci-fi miniatures that I like but almost next to no rules that I like. At least for skirmish level games. I’m actually quite fond of Void but I want to have games with 20 minis not 70. Skirmish games like Confrontation and games like Warmachine (which have lower mini counts) have really change my outlook towards gaming. I’m still going to be playing games like 40K (and maybe even prowling eBay for a painted army of Orks or Eldar miniatures) and the main impetus for building my urban terrain is to play 40K on it. But that said, I’d prefer a smaller scale game.

I’ve done some research on rule sets and I really haven’t found anything that I like. I’ve seen some rules that come close but ultimately I think this is a case where if you want something you need to build it yourself.

So some basics about the rules.

1) D10 based. D6 systems lack the ability to provide small meaningful differences between troops. A D10 system will let you create infantry that is slightly better than a lower rated counterpart without making them too expensive or much more powerful. As well you can also avoid having to use 2D6 resolution systems and still get a wide range of possible results from single dice rolls.

2) Alternating activations. Any game I have played that includes this has been a much more entertaining and tactically interesting game. My thoughts are that the core mechanic would have players activating two minis at a time with some leaders having the ability to attempt to active more if they can make a task check

3) Unit generation system. The game is going to be built from the ground up to use a single point calculation engine so that people will be able to easily created stats for their own miniatures. If you want to use the new GW Vostroyan minis then you should be able to create some stats for them and put them on the table safe in the assumption that your created stats should balance well against your opponents.

4) Simple calculations for tasks (similar to Void) and an avoidance of table. Players should be able to calculate base results without having to refer to tables. Void was very quick to play since once you had the shooting and CC modifiers memorized you could do combat without ever referring back to a book or table. Even the opposed results table in Void was actually redundant once you determined the calculations used to create it.

More news about this as work progresses.

