Battleground Fantasy Warfare

Zach and I managed to get in a game of Battleground Fantasy Warfare today at Strategies. I played the Lizardmen and Zach played Orcs. It is a card based fantasy mass combat system published by Your Move Games.

I have to say I was quite surprised by the game. I wasn’t expecting it to be a dud but we had quite a good time and the game provided a surprising amount of maneuver and surprises. Mostly due to some really bad luck on my part but I should expect that in games :-)

I imagine that the gameplay will change somewhat once we manage to remember and apply all the rules but the core system was easy to figure out and remember.

Ultimately my Lizrdmen lost but a lot of that had to do with army placement as I had some of my weakest units facing Zach’s Trolls. Never good way to win a fight. :-) My loss though was really a result of how I did my set-up and how I picked my opponents and it was refreshing to loss a game (even an initial game) based on my own bad choices and not because I forgot a rule or didn’t understand the system.

I’m going to be going over the rules again and hope to play this again soon. Highly recommended.

5 thoughts on “Battleground Fantasy Warfare

  1. briguy says:

    I chatted with Zach last night about the game, and he sure had a lot of good things to say about it as well. I’m looking forward to giving it a try sometime soon now, it’s just a pity I wasn’t able to make it out to play with you guys yesterday.

  2. Zac says:

    I was a lot of fun and I am looking to perhaps grabbing another army.

    I’m thinking of making some terrain boards for the game. It uses an odd table size and I thought that it would be easier to cut out some MDF or foam insulation board and then cover it with those railway terrain grass mats I have. I have two so I can cut one of them up and build at least two tables for the game.

  3. briguy says:

    It uses an odd table size What size is that?

  4. Larkin Vain says:

    It’s a pretty fun game. I haven’t played it in ages, but that new company with their play mat is making me want to take out the old decks again.

  5. Zac says:

    The table is 3′ x 2.5′

    The mat from TOG Entertainment is about 4″ too long in one direction but other than that it is a great fit.

    I grabbed the Dwarves to day as well.

Comments are closed.