Cryx triumphs!

Ryan dropped in yesterday and we had game using the Warmachine MkII rules. We’re both testing out 35 point armies for a Warmachine event at the Trumpeter Salute next weekend so we played the Break the Line scenario with one of the lists that we hope to bring to the event.

This is the force I was using:

Warwitch Deneghra (*5pts)

  • Deathripper (4pts)
  • Defiler (5pts)
  • Defiler (5pts)
  • Skarlock Thrall (2pts)

Bane Knights (Leader and 5 Grunts) (6pts)
Bane Thralls (Leader and 9 Grunts) (8pts)
Mechanithralls (Leader and 5 Grunts) (3pts)
Bane Lord Tartarus (4pts)
Necrotech & 1 Scrap Thrall (1pts)
Warwitch Siren (2pts)

and this is, to the best of my recollection, Ryan’s Highborn Covenant force

Ashlynn d’Elyse (*6pts)

  • Vanguard (5pts)
  • Mule (8pts)

Arcane Tempest Gun Mages (Leader and 5 Grunts) (6pts)

  • Arcane Tempest Gun Mage Officer (2pts)
  • Mule (8pts)

Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters (Cylena and 9 Grunts) (10pts)
Rhupert Carvolo, Piper of Ord (2pts)

I won the game at the end of my turn three with a caster kill. I also would have won using the scenario victory conditions as I controlled enough areas to win.

I think the game was won mostly due to Ryan’s army list choice and not any real skill on my part. None of Ryan’s units are throw-away or useful for guarding/screening his Arcane Gun Mages and so I was able to move in on them with no problems and whip them out with the Bane Lord and the Warwitch Siren.

The combo of the Mule and the Arcane Tempest Gun Mage Officer is really quite deadly as it gives the Mule a double range shot if it doesn’t move (Snipe + range + no move bonus = 16″) but the best one is, IMO, the Critical Brutal Damage which makes the AOE shot on the Mule an absolute killer.

The Nyss Hunters were actually a giant PITA and deadly against this army since they were almost untouchable with their high defence. I managed to hold them up with my Mechanithralls. The Hunters really could have been a problem for me and I was glad that I was able to tie them up or they may have been able to take out Deneghra on their own.

Out of my army I was really only unsatisfied with the Mechanithralls. The force already has two huge “beatstick” units and so the Mechanithralls didn’t really add much to the army that was unique. I’m looking at trying to fit in a different infantry unit, something that adds a new threat to the force. Bile Thralls are the obvious choice but their cost would require me to rework the army.

I deployed with Denghra, the Jacks and the McThralls on the right flank and the Bane Lord and the Bane units on the left. The Warwitch was on the far left flank and that really was a poor choice. Ultimately she did take out a lot of Arcane Gun Mages with Venom but I think that it would have been more fun to use Influence and get one of the Gun Mages to shoot the Officer :-)

The Bane Lord and the Bane Thralls worked a lot better than I thought. Both the Thralls and the Knights got reduced by Mule shots but the Bane Lord was able to mow down the rest of the Arcane Gun Mages and add three troops to the units to beef them back up. Charging Weapon master Bane Thralls then reduced one of the Mules to scrap. I really forgot just how much damage you can do rolling four dice.

Ashlynn went down after I was able to successfully hit her with Scourge. I should have finished her with a Defiler but despite being reduced to Def 5 I roll double 1s to hit and had to move in with a Deathripper to finish her off.

A fun game and I think that we both learned a lot from the experience. I had some issues with Deneghra in the game because she is, to my mind, a very passive caster. I also think that trying to run her with three Jacks means that I either use the Jacks or cast spells and that its not feasible to do both. I may drop one of the Bonejacks from the list and try it again.

Tagged