2011 Gaming Resolutions

Once again the year winds down and people’s minds turn inward and think of the year to come and how to do better themselves in the next 12 months. Last year we asked people for their 2010 Gaming Resolutions and I am happy to report that I didn’t meet a single darned one of mine.

So mine from last year were:

  1. Finish a rules project I am working on
  2. Paint my Pig Iron figures (all of them :-)
  3. Paint my Ork Blood Bowl team
  4. Paint two forces for a Songs of Swords and Heroes game.

I actually did paint a force of Otherworld Kobolds for use with Songs of Swords and Heroes so I am .5 for 4. Still not a good average

So this year I am going to try something a little less precise. If you’ve been reading this blog (or just guessing based on past history) I have picked up a lot of minis in the last month. So many that I have more than enough figs and games to last me the better part of the year and that is going to be my main resolution this year.

I’m not insane enough to pledge that I won’t buy anything but I am going to try to keep my purchases and gaming focused on the games and genres that I have been building forces for. Specifically

1) 15mm and 28mm sci-fi gaming with Tomorrow’s War and AE Bounty
2) Space combat with Starmada and Klingon/Romulan Armada
3) fantasy gaming with my in-development homebrew rules
4) War Rocket
5) Warmachine and Hordes

I have picked up some some 15mm figs from GZG and Rebel Minis and I will be painting those forces and expanding the Rebel Minis force a bit.

I have two forces from GZG for Starmada and will be picking up some more minis for use with the game including an Outer Rim Coalition force.

I have a few 28mm Old Crow vehicles that I have already planned on picking up and those will be for my Pig Iron Heavy Infantry force.

Other than that, I want to try to avoid spending money on anything that isn’t related to those projects. Primarily terrain and perhaps the odd mini to add/expand the forces I have.

That is going to be my main resolution and I want to try to stick to it to aim to expand the painted forces I have and try to paint/model/build figs and terrain to be used in as many games as possible.

Other than that the only thing I really want to focus on this year is completing my fantasy rules or at lest getting them to a point where I can get other people to playtest them.

2 thoughts on “2011 Gaming Resolutions

  1. gdaybloke says:

    I think I may shoot for a fully painted faction… won’t be Menoth, that’s for sure, but maybe Trolls or Trib… Circle’s smallest…

Comments are closed.