What a difference a brush makes

Over the weekend I took some time at Sentry Box to find some decent brushes. I decided to splurge on a pair of Windsor Newton Series 7 brushes and it was apparent immediately that these were exceptional brushes. When I got home I took some time to do some quick work with them and their ability to hold paint on the tip and also keep a point when painting.

If anyone has ever wondered how much of an impact a $15 sable brush can make, take my advice and take the plunge and buy them. Even if you are not a top-notch painter you will see the effects.

2 thoughts on “What a difference a brush makes

  1. secretweaponminiatures says:

    I used to be a big fan of the W&N brushes but now I’m very much sold on the Raphael 8404 for their superior reservoir. I actually have an article up comparing the two brands:

    http://www.secretweaponminiatures.com/index.php?main_page=page&id=7

    If you haven’t seen it Ron @ From The Warp also has a multi-part series on brushes that I contributed to that includes cleaning and usage tips.

  2. djinn24 says:

    I have been a user of W&N series 7s for a while and love them. I have tested out some other brushes but I have not had a chance to test Raphael brushes yet. If you have not had a chance yet, pick up “The Masters Brush Cleaner” Best stuff ever! I have some tutorials posted on brush cleaning on http://www.models-workshop.com as well.

Comments are closed.