Painting for paintings sake

As long as I have been laying miniature games I have been struggling with my painting. I really don’t like it, I don’t get a lot of enjoyment out of it and I never really have the time to practice it and get better at it. I love miniature games and perhaps one of the reasons why I enjoyed AT-43 so much was, not only the insane background and models, but the fact that I didn’t have to paint any of the figures.

So today I was browsing through the Dark Sword Miniatures website looking at the many wonderful George R. R. Martin Masterworks series figures and made a comment to Michelle that I would love to get some of the miniatures but wouldn’t because I couldn’t ever paint them to a level the figures really required.

If you are not familiar with them, the range is primarily sculpted by Tom Meier who has an unearthly ability to capture the human form. He also can create intricate detail and realistic clothing that combine to make some truly unearthly good-looking miniature. Jim at Dark Sword also spends a fair bit getting these figures painted by the likes of Jen Haley and Marike Reimer. The combination of sculpts and painting is enough to make you gasp sometimes.

And it was during this that I thought “why not”? Why not pick up some of the simpler figures in the range and just buy them to paint. And paint them with an aim to actually attempt to get better at painting, to “up my game” as it were and become a better painter.

And so that is what I did. I picked up four figures from the range and will start out with the Gold Cloak figure by Tom Meier. At the very least I’ll get more experience painting capes.

