Warmachine Menoth test run

I was able to head over to Trilogy Gaming Club today and got in two games of Warmachine with Dallas. I played both games using the same Menoth list

Grand Scrutator Severius (*6pts)

  • Redeemer (6pts)
  • Crusader (6pts)
  • Vanquisher (8pts)
  • Hierophant (2pts)

Choir of Menoth (Leader and 5 Grunts) (3pts)
Exemplar Errants (Leader and 5 Grunts) (5pts)

  • Exemplar Errant Officer & Standard Bearer (2pts)

Temple Flameguard (Leader and 5 Grunts) (4pts)

  • Temple Flameguard Officer & Standard (2pts)

Reclaimer (2pts)
The Covenant of Menoth (2pts)

Sadly my list was 1pt over.

Dallas’ first army was a Legion force using Saeryn

Saeryn, Omen of Everblight (*5pts)

  • Raek (4pts)
  • Shredder (2pts)
  • Stinger (2pts)
  • Carnivean (11pts)
  • Seraph (8pts)

Blighted Ogrun Warspears (Leader and 2 Grunts) (5pts)
Blighted Nyss Shepherd (1pts)
Blackfrost Shard (5pts)

The Legion list he had was 1 pt over so we were even :-)

This was my first Warmachine game in over a year and also my first game with my new Menoth list so I was
hoping to just not embarrass myself.

Game one

The first game went rather well for my troops at least at the beginning. I took out the Carnivean early and my Exemplar Errants helped take out the Stinger and a Shepard. My Flameguard held off the Blighted Ogrun Warspears with the judicious use of Shieldwall and the Flamegaurd UA mini feat. My Crusader took out the Carnivean and the Vanquisher too out the Seraph (not before it took out a Choir member and did some damage to Severius.

The game was beginning to look bad for Dallas especially when he failed a charge from Saeryn to my Crusader and was left in the open. I risked a free strike from his Raek which was lucky enough to take out the Crusader’s cortex and made me lose the three Focus I was going to use to smear Saeryn into paste. The next turn he popped Saeryn’s feat and bounced in to spear a Choir member and then flip over to skewer Severius.

Game one to Dallas.

Game two

Game two saw me playing the same force and Dallas switched over to his Madhammer army.

Durgen Madhammer (*6pts)

  • Grundback Blaster (3pts)
  • Grundback Gunner (3pts)
  • Ghordson Avalancher (9pts)
  • Ghordson Basher (7pts)

Captain Sam MacHorne & the Devil Dogs (Sam and 5 Grunts) (5pts)

  • Mule (8pts)

Master Gunner Dougal MacNaile (2pts)
Thor Steinhammer (2pts)
Reinholdt, Gobber Speculator (1pt)

This was not the force that Dallas wanted to take but he forgot the cards for the Arcane Gunmgae unit and UA and instead went with the Devil Dogs. He also forgot to add one points to his list so his force was only 34pts to my 36pt list.

Between Madhammer, the Avalancher and the Mule, Dallas was able to eliminate my Flameguard easily. My Exemplar Errants positioned themselves in woods and then charged out to take out a Gunner. Weaponmaster on a charge makes short work of a Light Warjack. I then used Quick Work on the last Errant to shoot Reinholdt. Dallas used the Basher to take out all of the Errants except one. The Crusader then charged the Basher and wrecked it.

On the other flank the Avalancher and the Mule stood up to the Vanquisher and the Redeemer. The Vanquisher took a shot at Madhammer and managed to set him on fire and do a minor amount of damage. The Redeemer and the Vanquisher took out the Devil Dogs which left the Mule autonomous. Not a huge problem as Dallas had Thor to help boost it.

Sadly in the last turn I blocked the Redeemer in with a Choir member and luckily was able to take the Avalancher out with the Vanquisher and then the Redeemer took out Madhammer with a rocket shot.

Lessons learned

The Choir and Eye of Menoth were an outstanding combination. The Battle Hymn and the boost from Eye of Menoth made the Redeemer a very useful unit and made the rest of the Jacks incredible. I found the Covenant to be of less use in this force. The Errants could have used the boosts it provided but with Advanced Deployment they were too far away to benefit. I think that I will probably drop it for the next set of games and instead add the Errant Seneshal or perhaps a Vassal mechanic when I get one.

The Reclaimer didn’t do too much in the first game but in the second I was able to place three Focus on the Vanquisher which made for an exceptional turn as I had nine Focus on all three Jacks and played holy heck with Dallas’ army.

Aside from the army list mistakes I am sure I goofed a few things up but the force, while limited to the models at hand, was quite a lot of fun to play and I am looking forward to trying it out again.

Tagged , , , ,