What I don’t play and why

Looking through my blog there are a few games that I have posted about that I no longer play. So I thought I would look at each game and discuss why I have moved on from them.

Malifaux
There is not a thing I really dislike about Malifaux. I love the setting, the card system is incredible and the game itself and the scenario structure lead to some really exciting and unique games. Sadly aside from one local player I couldn’t get in any regular games. I really just want to game now and not build a community for a game and so despite wanting to play it more Malifuax was sidelined due to lack of local interest. This is a clear example of why smaller companies spend so much time, or should, trying to build up local demo teams and getting gamers interested. A local community of players can make or break a game and in this instance the lack of a larger community made me move on.

If you know people locally that play Malifaux then you should check it out as it is easily the best tabletop miniature game developed in the last decade. Seriously. If you can play it do so. You won’t regret it.

Warmachine
Again I love the Warmachine game but there were two factors here. I really don’t like the Colossals and the war engines. I think it moves the game into a direction that detracts from the skirmish nature of the game and is, I think, the precursor to a larger scale game. I also just don’t like the Menoth models for both of the large engines/Jacks. And I really only have time for a single core game and it with the re-introduction of Epic: Armageddon to my life Warmachine really didn’t have any chance. I like Warmachine but I have never, AFAIK, been as involved or obsessed with the game as some people have and so it isn’t really difficult to have my time for the Warmachine drift into a different game.

Warhammer Fantasy
Warhammer is a fun, if decidedly random, game and there is a great community of players but I don’t like playing with unpainted armies and I do not have the time or energy to paint a whole Warhammer fantasy army. GW is also really pushing the large monsters and creatures in the game which brings about the same problem for me that the Colossals in Warmachine do. Games Workshop also likes to push both 40K and Fantasy to large games to increase sales and I just don’t like those sorts of games.

If I had a painted army I might have kept it around to play with but given the time I was going to have for it and the lack of painted figures I really didn’t see this as being a sound investment in my gaming time.

Dystopian Wars
Dystopian Wars is a great range of figures with a really problematic set of rules. Or maybe the rules aren’t that bad but the rulebook was a mess and despite reading and rereading it I always got the impression that I was playing the game wrong or missing something. Spartan Games has a reputation of printing and releasing beta rules and getting people to pay to play test them and I don’t know that this is unwarranted. Especially in the case of Dystopian Wars. Give them credit for releasing the games and models in a timely fashion but nice models do not a game make and the rules were never up to the same standard as the rules.

There are a few people playing Dystopian Wars locally but I never enjoyed the game as much as other games and so the time put into painting the very nice minis resulted in less than satisfying game play.

Epic: Armageddon
Now despite these issues I may have been playing one or more of these games still if it wasn’t for Epic: Armageddon. It goes without saying that I am a huge fan of the game and the miniatures and once I started playing the game again it was inevitable that some other games would be kicked to the curb to make time for it. And also some of my collection. I have traded away almost all of my Warmachine collection to get Epic Eldar and Space Marines.

I have three main games that I am currently playing; Epic: Armageddon, Blood Bowl and 40K Second Edition. I have slowly traded or sold most of the rest of my collection and I am in the process of putting the rest of it on eBay. My focus now is on games that I enjoy, that are fun and that I can play and I have pruned almost everything else from my hobby room.

Tagged , , ,