Myth Games’ Kessel Run event

X-WIng Millenium Falcon
Look what I won!

Today was the X-Wing Kessel Run event at Myth Games and I was not only lucky enough to be able to go (thanks Michelle!) but I also ended up taking away the Millennium Falcon miniature.

Eight people showed up for the event and we were lucky enough to have an even split of Rebel and Imperial players. We played three rounds to determine the top four players before having one last round using the prize kit miniatures to determine who got first pick of the miniatures.

Here is the 100pt list I used

Pilot: Wedge Antilles
X-Wing (29)
Upgrades:
R5-K6 (2)

Pilot: Rookie Pilot 1
X-Wing (21)

Pilot: Rookie Pilot 2
X-Wing (21)

Pilot: Gold Squadron Pilot 1
Y-Wing (18)
Upgrades:
Ion Cannon Turret (5)
R2-D2 (4)

This was based on an earlier list I tested this week and was the result of some kibitzing that Scott, the other top finalist, and I had while cleaning up. The idea is to use the Y-Wing to soak up damage and use Ion cannon hits to put enemy ships into position to pound with the X-Wings.

After some abysmal luck using Proton Torpedoes and after watching some other people have equally bad luck I opted not to use any. At range 1 the X-Wings can deliver some incredible punishment and I decided that I was better off using the points for other upgrades. The Ion Cannon is far too useful to not include when adding a Y-Wing and R2-D2 was added to allow the Y-Wing to build it’s shields back up to let it continue to play its role of damage soak.

In all three games I put the Y-Wing out front and my opponents obliged by shooting at it. In only one game did the Y-Wing go down and that was because I was unable to do any green manoeuvres to use R2.

My first game was against the only Imperial player to not use a swarm of Tie Fighters. He had Darth Vader, Marek Stele and two Academy pilots. This was the closest match of the evening and would have been a much easier win for me if I hadn’t ran Wedge into an asteroid. The last turn of the game resulted in me rolling three hits against one of his last two Tie Fighters only to have him save them all. The fighter only had one hull point left and I could have destroyed it but his good rolling saved it. As it was I managed to win by three points (we counted remaining craft on the table including upgrades).

The second game was against Myth Games owner Cory. IIRC he had a five fighter fleet with Darth Vader, Howlrunner and three Storm Squadron pilots. As in my first game I concentrated on taking out the character models and then removing the generic pilots. Howlrunner went down and then I took out two Tie Fighters and then finally Darth Vader. The game would have been a bit more lop-sided if I hadn’t accidentally sent one of my Rookie X-Wing pilots off the game area by giving him a right instead of a left turn. Cory had some rather bad luck with his evasion dice and I was also able to use Wedge to good effect and he whittled away the opposition. The Tie Fighter’s best feature is its hight Agility and Wedge helps remove that and makes the Tie Fighters easier to take down.

The last game against Scott was a total blow-out. Scott split his force of six Tie Fighters and I was able to take them one in four versus three fights that quickly reduced his fleet down to a single pilot. Scott had some bad luck trying to manoeuvre his pilots and I was insanely lucky to be able to get all four of my fighters to circle around an asteroid without any collisions or overlaps.

So in the end it was myself against Scott to determine who got first choice of the miniatures. I took the Rebel fleet of Lando in the Falcon and two A-Wing fighters and Scott took the Tie Interceptors and Slave-1. In a repeat of the Kessel Run final from Sentry Box, Slave-1 was really able to shoot almost everything out of the sky and Scott got revenge for his loss to me by blowing up my entire fleet. The game ended up with my remaining A-Wing against the Slave-1 and, as you can imagine, that didn’t last long. I think that Slave-1 with its upgrades is a powerful combination in a game when both players are most likely playing with ships they have never used before.

The real lesson of the entire event is that the game is much, much better if you use obstacles in the game. It provides a requirement for fighters to manoeuvre and not simply move right across the table and fire in waves. The lack of obstacles makes the Tie Swarm fleet very powerful and it is telling that in this event I went 3-0 with a four pilot Rebel fleet and that only a single Tie Swarm fleet made it to the top four. In our last event both Imperial players had Swarm lists and walked over the other two Rebel players.

I would strongly suggest that no-one play this game without a scenario based win condition or using obstacles. Every single game of the event was fun, different and had a lot more movement and planning in it than any of the previous games I played.

It was also fun to note that in two of the three games I played I was able to take out Darth Vader with Rookie X-Wing pilots. Vader is a powerful pilot but at close range he can still flub his Agility rolls and take a pile of damage from an X-Wing at range 1.

The A-Wing Fighters were a utter joy to use and I can’t wait to try them in a game with other Rebel ships. Burst allows them to turn quickly and it is quite easy to tuck them into an opponent’s rear or keep them from being damaged.

I had a lot of fun and to be honest I was quite surprised that I was able to finish and win the Falcon. Thank goodness that Scott changed his mind after winning our final game and took Slave-1. I suspect that he had initially wanted the Falcon but after seeing the devastation that Slave-1 dealt out he took that instead. I am not sure I can really blame him as I am quite interested in seeing how the Proximity and Concussion Mines work and how deadly the ship is when piloted by Boba Fett.

Tagged , ,