Distractions

Well the house is certainly full of distractions at the moment. My Rivet Wars parcel arrived today and the day prior to that the copy of Krosmaster: Arena that I did a trade for showed up. The twins were very excited about the Krosmaster figures and only Twin A was really all that interested in the Rivet Wars minis. Her sister played with them but only, I suspect, to be social and be involved in a game.

Rivet Wars

I tried out the first Rivet Wars scenario this evening on my own and it plays quite quickly and is a very simple game. I did almost run out of figures though as both sides were having ridiculous luck when it came to trying to take out their opponents. In the final turn, luck turned to the Allies who almost cleared the board of the Blighten troops and grabbed a victory.

I suspect that Rivet Wars isn’t going to be a really deep game but it does have some very nice minis and also seems quite fun. Definitely a “beer and pretzels” game.

Krosmaster: Arena is a different beast. It has a lot of depth based on the spells and abilities available to each of the figures. The core rules are again quite simple (not as simple as Rivet Wars mind you) but each character has their own spells and abilities which give them a unique play style.

The full game also has a very distinct video game feel, similar to Super Dungeon Explore, in that you gain coins (by smashing scenery, defeating opponents or finding it on the ground) and use that to buy buffs or equipment. It seems as if it will be delightfully chaotic but still an interesting game to play. Even the early tutorial games provide you with tactical decisions to make which has me hopeful that the full game will provide a deep experience.

Krosmaster

The publishers also made an interesting choice to include maps and instructions in the rulebook so you can play a tutorial from within the rulebook (see above). You can learn the game as you go and do so with a limited number of figures. The final tutorials use two figures a side so you definitely won’t get bogged down in detail as you go.

Despite this I did manage to get some more work done on my Deadzone terrain last night. I would have done more but I realised that I didn’t have any additional lighter shades of grey to use to finish drybrushing the first set of terrain.

I also started prepping the figures for my Dagonite cult for Von Unaussprechlichen Kulten. A bit of glue and some sand on their bases and they will be ready for priming.

Tagged , , ,