Institut v. Ronin rematch

Danny and I met up today for a rematch game of In Her Majesty’s Name. I tweaked my company a bit based on our last game and gave Dr. Belliveu and Gaston an increased FV to help them last in close combat and also to reflect my idea of what Gaston the metal automaton is.

Setup

We played the King of the Hill scenario with the restaurant in centre of the table being the objective. We also used the Twilight scenario complication. It didn’t really come into effect that much as Danny really needs to get into close combat ASAP with his company.

I picked the side with the ruins to advance from hoping to use the ruins for cover from Danny’s single long range unit.

My updated company consisted of:

Name: Dr. Belliveu

  • Pluck: 2+ FV: 4 SV: 4 Speed: 0
  • Equipment
    Chain Shirt, steel, English All-Electric Truncheon, Arc Pistol
  • Talents
    Leadership +2, Inspirational, Erudite Wit
  • Cost: 68

Name: Helene

  • Pluck: 3+ FV: 3 SV: 0 Speed: 1
  • Equipment
    Lined Coat, Quarterstaff
  • Talents
    Engineer, Medic
  • Cost: 29

Name: Gaston

  • Pluck: 3+ FV: 3 SV: 3 Speed: 0
  • Equipment
    Breastplate, steel, Machine Gun, Steam Fist/Claw
  • Talents
    Strongman, Tough, Fearless
  • Cost: 80

Name: Col. Difol

  • Pluck: 3+ FV: 3 SV: 3 Speed: 1
  • Equipment
    Lined Coat, Pistol, Sabre/Sword
  • Talents
    Leadership +1, Duellist
  • Cost: 34

Name: Sgt Remilard

  • Pluck: 3+ FV: 2 SV: 3 Speed: 1
  • Equipment
    Lined Coat, Military Rifle
  • Talents
    Tough
  • Cost: 31

Name: Cpl. Bloutard

  • Pluck: 4+ FV: 2 SV: 2 Speed: 1
  • Equipment
    Lined Coat, Arc Rifle
  • Talents
  • Cost: 18

Name: Chauseer

  • Pluck: 5+ FV: 1 SV: 2 Speed: 0
  • Equipment
    Lined Coat, Military Rifle
  • Talents
  • Cost: 15

Name: Chauseer

  • Pluck: 5+ FV: 1 SV: 2 Speed: 0
  • Equipment
    Lined Coat, Military Rifle
  • Talents
  • Cost: 15

Turn 2

Danny pushed his Ronin as fast forward as he could with his troops split between the woods and the hedges. His Monk Archer moved into the restaurant upper floors to take control of the objective and to get a good shot at my troops. I tried to keep into the ruins which ultimately wasn’t really fruitful as the cover provided didn’t really do anything once Danny charged into range. Good habit to get into I supposed?

In any case I forgot how quickly his Ronin could get into contact. With Martial Artist and a Speed of 3 they can all tear across the table. He managed to get half his Ronin into close combat in three turns even with me trying to keep my distance.

Shooting takes it toll

Unlike our last game, I was able to take down some of Danny’s Ronin with my rifles and Gaston’s machinegun. This meant that most of the resulting close combat fights were one-on-one. I also managed to make a lot more of my Pluck rolls when confronted by his sword welding lunatics which helped.

The FV bumps on Gaston and Dr. Belliveu really worked. Both of them were far more effective in combat and Gaston now works like the clanking death-machine I want him to be and I was also not worrying about the fine Doctor for the whole game.

Leaderdown

In fact Gaston took down Danny’s Ronin leader and even though he brought his Monk medic into contact to apply his eastern healing arts. Sadly rolling a 1 for Pluck meant that the senior Ronin had fought his last.

Danny managed to take out Cpl. Bloutard and his Arc Rifle early on before I was able to bring it to bear against the Monk Archer and then tied up Col. Difol who was attempting to move towards the restaurant and use his duelling pistol to bring down the archer. Happily Danny didn’t tie up Gaston who used his machinegun to tear apart the upper floor the the local eatery and take out the archer but not before his arrows brought down a Chauseer.

Final battle

The game ended with a three on one battle with Gaston, Dr. Belliveu and Col. Difol putting the beat on the remaining Ronin. Happily for me he went down quickly.

I think for our next games that I will beef up the terrain on the table to keep the fire lanes smaller and also make more difficult for units to move around the table. Even with the smaller table size I think that the game will benefit from a higher terrain density.

Hopefully we will be able to get Charles and Rick out for some games in the future.

Tagged