Oathmark campaign game 3: Elf Army redux

One of my ‘failures’ as a gamer is that I am not very good at making up army lists. It is one of the reasons why I don’t play in tournaments. I pick units that look fun or that seem like they would be interesting to play. I tend to lose a lot of games :-)

So my first attempt at an elf army for my third Oathmark campaign game was probably not the best army for the task. That said, the Elves are not the best suited for the scenario in question. Or at least they need to be more focused in their application.

The most obvious solution for the force is to remove the General. It is an expensive unit and the army needs as many models on the table as it can get. Sadly, taking out the General still doesn’t give the army many more models but I can add a unit of archers and fill out the unit of soldiers that I had previously used to guard the General.

New Elf army
New Elf army

I also had enough points left over to give the Spellcaster a Ring of Spellcasting. I am getting tired of my Elf spellcasters not being able to get their spells properly cast.

I am also going to use the Smoke spell to try to block the Elf troops from the immense amount of fire that the Dwarven army will be able to put out. In order to win the scenario the Elves need to cross the table and they will not be able to do that if they are getting peppered with Catapult and arrow fire. I will be keeping the Fireball spell though to help add more ranged fire to the force while it marches across the table.

Hopefully this list will last more than three turns :-)

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑