Dystopian War: Prussians v. Rising Sun

Last Thursday I went out to Myth Games for a Dystopian Wars game against Brett and his Rising Sun force. I brought along some of my islands as well as the game mat from the Dreadfleet game. I really like the way that the mat looks but the odd size means that we need to start the game with fleets deployed right on the edge of the mat.

I used the Prussians from the starter set (all that I have painted) and Brett used his Battleship, Cruisers and omitted four frigates in order to afford the Rising Sun Squid submarine.

Brett deployed with his Battleship and Submarine in the centre of his table edge with frigates on either side and his Cruisers to his right. I place my Battleship opposite his but then put the rest of my fleet to my left and put my Bombers and aircraft on my right. This left Brett’s second squadron of three Frigates out of the game until almost the very end.

My leftmost Frigates and Cruisers were able to take out his reduced two vessel Frigate squadron and Cruisers while my other Frigates and Battleship moved forward to engage the Submarine and Battleship.

The Squid was able to take an enormous amount of punishment and I finally had to actually board it and fight the thing as I was almost unable to damage it. Once I did finally sink it Brett was left with only a damaged Battleship and we called it a game.

We have a new player in town who is quite eager to play so I hope to get in more games. As well, the Dreadfleet mat turned out to look quite phenomenal but really wasn’t big enough for a game so I’ll probably invest in a mat from Hotz Mats for the future.

One thought on “Dystopian War: Prussians v. Rising Sun

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑