Ready the Fleets!

When we moved from Calgary to Edmonton I got rid of almost all of my miniatures – painted and unpainted. The two exceptions were my fantasy naval miniatures and some of the 6/10mm Dystopian Wars figures I had. The former were a deliberate choice and the latter were because I couldn’t meet up with a friend to give them away. When I started taking my ADHD medication I stopped painting miniatures almost immediately. It went from an enjoyable hobby to something that I couldn’t understand. “Why did I have all of these small ‘things’ in my possession”?

I sold a lot of figures and terrain. Near the end of my time in Calgary though I was just giving things away. Entire painted armies. It was chaos. In all of that, I knew that despite having no interest in them that I didn’t want to get rid of all of my naval miniatures. I am glad that my ADHD driven mania to cleanse myself of all of my figures didn’t extend to them.

Here are a few quick photos of the painted figures.

Way back in 2016 I was using these miniatures with a set of rules called Galleys & Galleons by Nic Wright. Specifically we were using the Fayre Winds and Foul Tides expansion which added rules to let you play with the old, and sadly discontinued, Uncharted Seas miniatures. It is a very fun set of rules but, as will happen when you are battling undiagnosed ADHD, I moved on to other games. Not before painting up quite a few more miniatures as well as more terrain.

So I unpacked it all last night and sorted it. I still have a huge pile of unpainted terrain and ships but given the shape of my hands I doubt those will ever get painted. I suspect that I have more than enough miniatures and terrain to play quite a few games.

I downloaded a copy of the Galleys and Galleons rules from Wargame Vault and then discovered that I didn’t own a copy of the Fayre Winds expansion. I suspect that we must have been using Danny’s copy. No problem as it is an inexpensive purchase and was even on sale.

What is even more surprising is that the stats for most of the ships that I created using the rules are still sitting in the TextEdit folder in iCloud.

I never deleted them and so they have stuck around on iCloud since 2016.

I am currently rereading the rules and then will look at perhaps putting on a game or two at the local wargame club here in Calgary at some point in the new year.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑